City Council

  • 5:30 pm
  • 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month
  • Council Chamber
    760 Mattie Road
    Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Note: Email correspondence sent to or from members of the City Council via the city's website are considered public records and may be subject to disclosure pursuant to the Public Records Act.

The City of Pismo Beach is a general law city, governed by a City Council / City Manager form of government. The City Council is comprised of 5 members, selected through a municipal election to serve a 4 year term, the Mayor serves a 2 year term. Each member must be a registered voter in the city. Each member represents the interests of the city as a whole.

Elections are conducted on staggered terms so transition of a continuing measure is maintained from 1 council to the next.

City Council Members, Sheila Blake, Shelly Higginbotham, Erik Howell, Mary Ann Reiss, and Ed Waage, are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's office. Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the above elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the office of the City Clerk.
  • The physical address of the FPPC is:
    428 J St.
    Suite 620
    Sacramento, CA 95814
  • The physical address of the City Clerk's office is:
    760 Mattie Road
    Pismo Beach, CA 93449
The statements of economic interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC's website.

Compensation & Benefits
Ordinance No. O-2007-008 sets compensation rates for the Mayor and Councilmembers as follows:
  • Mayor - $814.80 monthly
  • Councilmembers - $514.80 monthly
In addition each member of the Council shall be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred in the performance of Council's duties in the amount not to exceed as follows:
  • $55 for phone
  • $40 for Internet
  • $150 for expenses
Health Benefits
Resolution No. R-2009-079 establishes the Health and Welfare Benefit contribution for members of the City Council.